The Council of Lloyd's has appointed two new working and two external members.

Graham McKean, chairman of Ballantyne McKean & Sullivan, and Paul Archard, managing director of PXRE managing agency, are both elected for three-year terms as working members after polling 695 and 480 votes respectively.

Barnabas Hurst-Bannister, director of Limit, was pipped into third place with 456 votes and Anthony Taylor, underwriting director of Wellington, received 372 votes.

The election for external members reflected the division in Lloyd's between unlimited liability members – Names – and corporate capital.

This was determined by the relative proportions of underwriting capacity provided by each membership category to the market.

In the individual external election, Peter Morgan received 3,702.38 weighted voted and is elected for a three-year term.

There was only one nomination for a corporate (C) external seat, Bill Loschert who represented ACE Capital. He was duly elected for a three-year term.