The Insurance Times Awards 2002 are fast approaching. But who is up for which award? Here is the shortlist of candidates and a guide to the judging panel

Section 1 - voted by UK brokers

Commercial lines insurer of the year
Royal & SunAlliance

Lloyd's syndicate of the year
Equity Red Star

Personal lines insurer of the year
Legal & General

Motor insurer of the year
Allianz Cornhill
Legal & General

The claims award 2002

ULR provider of the year
Angel Assistance
DAS Legal Expenses

Legal expenses provider of the year
Abbey Legal Protection
DAS Legal Expenses

Premium finance provider of the year
Close Premium Finance
Premium Credit

General insurer of the year
Norwich Union
Royal & SunAlliance

Section 2 - panel judged

Service provider of the year
Claims Management Group
GAB Robins UK

Broker/intermediary marketing campaign of the year
Alexander Forbes Professions
Coversure Insurance Services

Community initiative of the year
Hill House Hammond for work with the Fire and Rescue Service
Royal & SunAlliance for `See U @ RUG B'
Zurich for `The Inclusion Programme'

Insurance law firm of the year
Browne Jacobson
Veitch Penny

Young achiever 2002
Allianz Cornhill - Clair Hayward
GAB Robins UK - Richard Jones
Norwich Union - Simon Lockwood

Small broker of the year
Rowett Insurance Broking Group

Large broker of the year
Benfield Group
Davis Group
Willis Group Holdings

Advertising campaign of the year
Close Premium Finance for the rebranding and product launch campaign
St Paul International Insurance for the Solicitors Professional Indemnity Insurance Campaign
Zurich for `Making it possible'

Training programme of the year
AXA Insurance for `AXA Campus'
Coversure Insurance Services for the `Coversure Academy'
Giles Insurance Brokers for the `E-learning Programme'

Risk management initiative of the year
FM Global for BIAS (Business Impact Analysis Solutions)
Royal & SunAlliance for the `Geographical Risk Analysis tool'
SLE Worldwide for `SLE Worldwide Safety Seminars'

Loss adjuster of the year
Claims People Group
Crawford & Company
GAB Robins UK

Personal injury claims service of the year
Donns Solicitors for the `Client Care Programme'
Zurich Personal Insurances for the `Rapid Injury Management Programme'
Zurich UK Commercial for `Injury Management - a total approach'

Broker/intermediary innovation of the year
Homepro Insurance for innovation in Home Improvement Protection Services for `The Motor Wizard'
Marsh for post 9/11 solutions for the Aviation Industry

Technology initiative of the year
GAB Robins UK for WeatherEYE
Royal & SunAlliance (Professional & Financial Risks Team) for the `Personal Accident Underwriting System'
Zurich UK Commercial for advances in commercial online trading

Insurer innovation of the year
MMA Insurance for Collision Deformation Classification
Royal & SunAlliance for `Cracking Teamwork'
Zurich UK Commercial for `Rate increases explained'

Broker intermediary support package of the year
AXA Insurance for the Premier Partners' Programme
Royal & SunAlliance for the `Energy Masterclass Development Programme'
Zurich Personal Insurances for growth through profitable business partnership
Zurich UK Commercial for `appropriate' value creation

The judges
1.Southern Magazines managing director Jonathan Shephard,

2. Insurance Times publishing director Sarah Tunstall,

3. Tactix managing director Tim Cadel,

4. Loud & Clear Public Relations director Alex Wise,

5. FWD Financial Services Marketing managing director Michael Gaughan,

6. Strategic Risk publisher Suzanne Hirst,

7. Insurance Times editor Andy Cook,

8. Financial Mail on Sunday financial correspondent Stephen Womack,

9. UN compensation commissioner Alan Cleary,

10. IMAS director Oliver Laughton Scott,

11. Netik senior vice president of sales Manjit Rana,

12. Biba chief executive Mike Williams,

13. Independent consultant Reg Brown,

14. Alarm chief executive Sheila Boyce,

15. Jacksons director Carole North,

16. Moody's European Insurance managing director Mark Hewlett,

17. M consulting managing director Steve Manton,

18. IRM chairman Mark Butterworth,

19. Chatset publisher Charles Sturge,

20. Airmic chairman David Ireland,

21. Financial Times insurance correspondent Andrew Bolger,

22. Bournemouth University lecturer Julie Robson