Multiple re-elections and new appointments to Lloyd's Council and Franchise Board announced

Lloyd’s announces new appointments to its Council and Franchise Board

Lloyd’s today announced the following appointments to its Council and Franchise Board:

  • Lord Levene was re-appointed as Chairman of Lloyd’s
  • Ewen Gilmour and Graham White were re-appointed as Deputy Chairmen of Lloyd’s and Bill Knight was re-appointed as Deputy Chairman of Council.
  • In the recent Council elections, Nick Marsh was elected as a working member of the Council for a three-year term, effective from 1 February 2008. Nick is Director of Underwriting Review at Atrium Underwriting Limited.
  • Catlin Syndicate Limited (represented by Paul Jardine) was also elected as a corporate ‘C’ external member for a three year term, effective from 1 February 2008. Paul is Deputy Chairman of Catlin Underwriting Agencies Limited and is also the Chairman of the Lloyd’s Market Association (LMA).
  • The Council of Lloyd’s also takes this opportunity to announce the appointment of Dr Reg Hinkley as a nominated member of Council. Dr Hinkley’s appointment was approved at the Council meeting on 26 September 2007 for a three-year term following Judith Hanratty’s retirement from the Council in August 2007.

Lloyd’s Chairman Lord Levene said: “I am delighted to welcome Reg Hinkley, Nick Marsh and Paul Jardine to the Council. With their combined experience they will add tremendous value in helping to underpin robust management of the underwriting cycle.”

Alongside the appointments to its Council, Lloyd’s also announced changes to its Franchise Board:

  • Claire Ighodaro CBE has been appointed as an independent non-executive director on the Franchise Board for a three-year term expiring on 31 December 2010 and Jim Stretton was re-appointed as a non-executive director on the Franchise Board for a two-year term, expiring on 31 December 2009.
  • Stephen Hodge has been re-appointed as an independent non-executive director until April 2008 when the 2007 Annual Report is approved by the Council.
  • Dipesh Shah will join the Franchise Board for a three-year term ending 31 December 2010 following Stephen’s retirement from the Board on 2 April 2008.
  • On 4 February, Council appointed Nick Furlonge, Director of Risk Management at Beazley, as a market connected non-executive director of the Franchise Board replacing Steven Burns whose term expired on 31 December 2007.

Welcoming the appointments to the Franchise Board, Lord Levene added: “I would like to thank the Franchise Board members, whose terms of office have either come to an end or shortly will do, for their hard work, especially Stephen Hodge who has agreed to stay until the Annual Report is published in April. I look forward to working with all of the new board members.”

As from 4 February 2008, the Council of Lloyd’s consists of the following members:

Working Members

  • Lord Levene (Chairman of Lloyd’s and Chairman of the Council)
  • Ewen Gilmour (Deputy Chairman of Lloyd’s)
  • Graham White (Deputy Chairman of Lloyd’s)
  • Rupert Atkin
  • Nick Marsh
  • Christopher Harman

Nominated Members

  • Bill Knight (Deputy Chairman of Council)
  • Richard Ward (CEO of Lloyd’s)
  • Celia Denton
  • Dr Reg Hinkley
  • Philip Lader
  • Andreas Prindl

Corporate ‘C’ External members

  • Catlin Synndicate Limited, represented by Paul Jardine
  • Dornoch Limited, represented by Dermot O’Donohoe
  • Hardy Underwriting Limited, represented by Barbara Merry
  • MAP Capital Limited, represented by David Shipley

Individual External Members

  • AJ SLP09 represented by Peter Morgan
  • Alan Lovell

As from 4 February 2008, the Franchise Board of Lloyd’s consists of the following members:

  • Lord Levene (Chairman of Lloyd’s Franchise Board)
  • Stephen Hodge (Deputy Chairman of Lloyd’s Franchise Board)
  • Roy Brown
  • Edward Creasy
  • Claire Ighodaro
  • Andrew Kendrick
  • Luke Savage
  • Jim Stretton
  • Rolf Tolle
  • Richard Ward
  • Nick Furlonge
  • Gavin Steele (Secretary to the Franchise Board)