Male-dominated Treasury Committee challenges City sexism

The Treasury Committee, which has one woman among its 14 members, will begin evidence sessions for its inquiry, Women in the City, next week.

The sessions will cover:

  • the proportion of women occupying senior positions in major financial institutions and the extent of glass ceilings to promotion
  • pay inequalities
  • the prevalence of flexible working practices
  • the extent to which the culture of the City is sexist
  • prevalence of sexual harassment and exploitation

Witnesses include

  • Dr Daniel Ferreira, reader, department of finance, London School of Economics
  • Professor Charles Goodhart, professor emeritus of banking and finance, London School of Economics
  • Kat Banyard, campaigns officer, Fawcett Society
  • Nichola Pease, deputy chairman, J O Hambro Capital Management
  • Dr Ros Altmann
  • Sandra Curtis
  • John Last, HR director for policy and employment, Royal Bank of Scotland
  • Sharron Gunn, director, member services, Institute for Chartered Accountants in England and Wales
  • Cathy Turner, Group HR Director, Barclays
  • Trevor Phillips OBE, chairman, Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Sarah McCarthy-Fry, exchequer secretary, HM Treasury
  • Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC MP, minister for women and equality

Treasury Committee members are:

  • Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman),
  • Nick Ainger,
  • Graham Brady
  • Colin Breed
  • Jim Cousins
  • Michael Fallon (Sub-Committee Chairman)
  • Sally Keeble
  • Andrew Love
  • John Mann
  • James Plaskitt
  • John Thurso
  • Mark Todd
  • Andrew Tyrie
  • Sir Peter Viggers.