Magazine picks up accolades for features, news and newcomer categories.

Insurance Times has picked up a record haul of accolades at the annual Biba Journalist of the Year Awards.

The editorial team, which received a total of seven nominations spread across three categories, won the prizes for trade news, trade features, and most promising newcomer of the year.

The winners were:

  • Sarah Kennedy - Trade News
  • Ellen Bennett - Trade Feaures
  • Danny Walkinshaw - Gary Hyndman award for Most Promising Newcomer

The judges included chief executive of Willis UK & Ireland, Brendan Macmanus; RSA broker chief, Paul Donaldson; and Andrew Honey, head of the small firms division at the FSA. The awards were held at the newly opened Willis headquarters in Lime Street.

Biba chief executive Eric Galbraith said: "We are now in our 26th year of the Awards, and every year we have seen the entries grow in strength. I believe that this year’s short-listed journalists represent the strongest group that we have ever had the pleasure to work with.

"As well as looking at the originality and style of writing, and the quality of related research or investigatory work, our judges have been asked to identify the journalists that raised awareness of general insurance subjects through their work and provided an insight into general insurance issues.

“I commend all those short-listed for providing a valuable service to the British consumer and the insurance sector, and would like to congratulate the winners on their fantastic and well deserved achievement.”

To read the award winning entries in full, click on the related links on the right hand column of this page.