Lloyd’s Market Association’s WPP appoints senior Markel employee as chairman

Dean Pitts has been appointed Chairman of the Lloyd’s Market Association’s (LMA) Worldwide Property Panel.

Managing director of Property, Open Market at Markel replaces the outgoing chair, Nick Jones, of Apollo.

In addition, Rhys Thomas (XL Catlin), Michael Williams (Hiscox) and Mark Abrahams (AmTrust) have been elected to the panel. Derek Hansen (Sompo Canopius) and Simon Clegg (Atrium) have been re-elected. All will serve the panel for a three-year term.

The panel will continue to focus on engagement in 2018, with the Placing Platform Limited (PPL) project team and brokers to ensuring that the platform provides efficiencies to the underwriting process.

Pitts said: “I am pleased to have been appointed to chair the LMA’s Worldwide Property Business Panel. I look forward to advancing the Panel’s objectives for the benefit of the property underwriting market at Lloyd’s. I would also like to thank Nick Jones for his work as Chairman in 2017.”

Pitts takes on his new role, in addition to his role at Markel, with immediate effect.