The new appointee will replace Simon Jeffreys in January 2023

Broker giant Aon UK has appointed a new non-executive chair to replace Simon Jeffreys, who will step down next month.

Announced today (6 December 2022), Marshall Bailey will become a chair at the insurer effective from 31 January 2023, signalling the end of Jeffreys’ seven years in the role.

Julie Page, chief executive officer of Aon UK, said: “Marshall Bailey brings a wealth of experience and knowledge which will greatly benefit the board, Aon and our clients.

”I am very much looking forward to working closely with him over the coming months and years as we continue to help shape better decisions for organisations.”

Bailey currently holds a number of non-executive roles, including chair of the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, chair of MUFG Securities EMEA and chair of MUS (Asia) Hong Kong.

He is also a member of the Board of Governors at the CFA Institute and has held other non-executive positions within financial services and insurance, including at the London Stock Exchange Group, Chubb and CIBC World Markets.

Comprehensive enhancements

Page also expressed her thanks to Jeffreys for his “considerable contribution” to the board over the last 13 years. 

She added: ”On behalf of the board and the executive, I would like to express our huge appreciation for Simon’s commitment, insight, positive influence and counsel.

”In his time as chair, he has overseen comprehensive enhancements to our governance, ensured the smooth running of the board and strengthened key stakeholder relationships.

”Simon’s support as chair has been enormously valuable to me personally and I wish him all the best as he continues his impressive non-executive career.”