Seven technology trailblazers in the insurance industry have been shortlisted by the Insurance Times editorial team to pick up the accolade at the Tech and Innovation Awards 2023 – but who will be crowned the winner?

Seven worthy candidates have been shortlisted to pick up the prestigious accolade of Technology Champion of the Year at Insurance Times Tech and Innovation Awards 2023.

The winner will be revealed at an awards ceremony, which will take place on 21 September 2023 at the Royal Lancaster London hotel.

And this year there will no voting – instead the final decision lies in the hands of the Insurance Times editorial team.

The shortlisted candidates for Technology Champion of the Year 2023 are:

Darren Bex, co-founder and chief technology officer at Peachy

Ed Gaze, chief executive of Innovative Risk Labs (IRL)

Chris Kenning, group chief executive of Stubben Edge 

Laura Horrocks, head of fraud technology and intelligence at Sedgwick

Graeme Newman, underwriting chief executive and chief innovation officer at CFC

Marco Perestrelo, head of technology (claims) at esure Group

Nigel Walsh, managing director of insurance at Google