Michael Bright was confirmed as the new president of the Chartered Insurance Institute.

Lillian Boyle is the deputy president. Richard Hudson is treasurer. Graham Doswell, Ron Forrest, Andy Homer, Bob Scott and Peter Williams were all named as vice presidents. The chairmen of the CII's committees are Julia Graham (education and training), Ian Templeton (examiner), Allen Prior (marketing) and Jennifer Jarrett (society of fellows).

The AGM included the CII's annual awards. Exceptional service medals went to Lillian Boyle, Carole Nichols, Neville Packett and Dick Richardson. Paddy McGovern received the life vice president award while former Airmic executive director Ina Barker won the Bridgewater award for exceptional service.

The Rutter award that goes to the best would-be fellow was picked up by RSA client account manager Lloyd Clark-Morris.