The insurtech was launched in 2021 and handpicked insurance heavyweights for its leadership team 

Three co-founders at motor insurance insurtech Abacai, including former Aviva Group chief executive Mark Wilson, have resigned as directors.

According to a filing on Companies House, Wilson, along with James John Hay and Colin Neil Price, resigned on 14 July 2023.

Abacai was created in 2021 after merging with Complete Cover Group (CCG), an insurance distribution and underwriting business.

It also received the backing of London-based private equity firm Sun Capital Partners.

Insurance Times has contacted Abacai for further comment about the resignations.


Wilson became chief executive of the motor insurtech after leading Aviva between 2012 and 2018. 

After launching, Abacai hand picked six new hires to join its leadership team, which included Matt Fothergill joining as deputy chief executive.

Chris Payne, who was previously Aviva’s UK chief investigating officer and digital engineer, also joined as chief technology officer.

And ex-Aviva director of digital product and design Will Faulkner joined as chief product officer. 

In September 2021, Abacai also partnered with insurtech Ticker to enhance its pricing model.