There were some lucky double winners on the night, while other firms picked up their first Insurance Times Claims Excellence Award – was it you?

On 23 May 2024, Insurance Times once again graced the luxurious Palace Suites at Kensington’s five star Royal Garden Hotel for the highly anticipated Claims Excellence Awards 2024 – and what an evening it turned out to be.

As the brightest stars of the claims industry convened under one roof and anticipation filled the air, the pressing question loomed: who would seize victory and nab a coveted trophy?

Over the course of the evening, 15 awards were up for grabs, including categories such as Claims Champion of the Year, Claims Product Solution of the Year, Claims Team of the Year, Fraud Solution of the Year and the Claims Achievement Award.

Hosting the evening and presenting the awards was award-winning comedian and TV entertainer Zoe Lyons – she infused the evening with humour and celebration. After fronting last year’s event, Lyons has certainly got to know the insurance industry better.

Insurance Times editor Katie Scott opened the award proceedings.

In her opening remarks, Scott noted that “the claims process beams a spotlight of intense visibility on the insurance ecosystem and provides a moment for us to shine”.

She continued: ”That is what these awards are all about – showcasing and recognising the products, tools, processes, approaches and people that have made the claims experience and insurance industry shine.”

The pinnacle of the evening’s accolades, the Claims Champion of the Year, was won by Eddie Longworth, founder and director of Jel Consulting.

Also shortlisted for this prize was Richard Napoli, claims and legal services director at Markel UK, and Nick Turner, surveyor at loss adjusting firm Woodgate and Clark.

The equally coveted Claims Achievement Award, presented by RDT client relationship director Stuart Dewhurst, was won by Descartes Underwriting, with Aviva nabbing highly commeneded recognition.

Meanwhile, the new Young Achiever in Claims or Fraud Award – sponsored by Arch Insurance – was won by Parisa Kheradmand, marine surveyor and MCL adjuster at Sedgwick.

Insurance Times would like to thank all the judges that helped with the Claims Excellence Awards, as well as sponsors Arch Insurance and RDT.

Providing a service

Lyons proudly announced SBS as the winner of the Claims Service Solution of the Year – Claims Management Provider.

The Claims Management Team of the Year – Service Provider award went to DWF Law. The law firm was shortlisted alongside Bridgetech Automotive Services, Edwin Coe and Winn Group.

Moving on to the Fraud Solution of the Year category, contenders such as Aviva, Crawford Legal Services and Direct Line Group, Markerstudy and DWF Law, as well as Verisk were in the running.

Crawford Legal Services and Direct Line Group achieved a highly commended prize, while DWF Law claimed its second success of the night.

The Customer Care Solution of the Year prize was won by GHG Solutions, which pipped Aviva and FloodFlash to the post in order to win the accolade.


Insurer Zurich clinched two trophies during the evening’s festivities – the Claims Service Solution of the Year award and the Credit Hire Solution of the Year award.

Group pic winners

All of the winners from 2024’s Claims Excellence Awards

Meanwhile, in the Claims Product Solution of the Year category, Air Doctor emerged victorious, surpassing shortlisted competitors Allianz and Aviva.

Similarly, the Claims Product Solution of the Year – Service Provider accolade was won by DWF Law. It defeated fellow shortlisted firms Bdeo, Bridgetech Automotive, RDT and Right Indem.

The Claims Training Excellence Award was won by Evander Glazing and Locks – the firm fended off competition from shortlisted companies such as Hiscox UK, Sedgwick, Woodgate and Clark and Zurich UK.

One of the evening’s most popular awards, Claims Team of the Year, was won by broker Brown and Brown, beating shortlisted rivals Aviva, Hiscox UK’s medical malpractice team, Markel and Quality Care Group.

For the Commercial Lines Claims Excellence Award, the finalists included CFC Underwriting, FloodFlash and Markel. Markel dazzled the judges and emerged victorious, taking the trophy home.

Lastly, the Counter Fraud Team of the Year award was hotly contested between Aviva, DCL with DWF Law and Verisk. Ultimately, Aviva emerged as the winner.

Insurance Times would like to thank everyone who attended the awards evening and congratulate all of the night’s winners.